Richmondshire District Council

The Flavours of Herriot Country Awards have continued to gain momentum each year, and now, in its eighth year, we have been incredibly impressed, with not just the volume of entries, but the sheer quality and incredibly high standards from the food and drink businesses across Richmondshire and Hambleton.

It was such a challenge for the judges at the initial stages, to make the decisions on who had made the grade to go forward to become finalists. It took long deliberations and quite a lot of consideration to whittle the entries down to go onto the finalist list.

Susie Brindley, Chair of Judges said: “Each year the quality of the award entries increase, which makes the short listing job a real challenge, but is a great reflection of the wonderful food and drink offer in Herriot Country.”

It’s always such a pleasure to inform the businesses who go forward to the next stage, when Susie and her team of highly respected food and drink experts will be starting their Mystery Shopping visits, and the dedicated team will separately judge the Beers, Baked Products and Local Products.

We look forward to celebrating the winners of our 13 categories, at our exciting and eventful awards event, presented by Elly Fiorentini, BBC Radio York, and with special guests joining us at The Garden Rooms, Tennants, Leyburn, on Monday 2 December, 11.00am to 2.30pm. The tickets for the awards will go on sale from Friday, 13 September.

Our thanks go to our principal supporters, North Yorkshire County Council, Hambleton District Council, Richmondshire District Council, and supported by Welcome to Yorkshire, and our many sponsors. 

The Darlington and Stockton Times ‘Reader’s Choice Awards’, is for the public to vote for their favourite business from the following list of finalists:

Breakfast of the Year finalists 
(sponsor - Yorkshires True Tours)
A J Spilman and Son (Spilmans), Helperby
The Station Café Bar, Richmond
The Joiners Shop, Ingleby Arncliffe
The North End Café, Bedale
Station Hotel Northallerton, Northallerton

Tea Room of the Year finalists 
(sponsor - The Garden Rooms, Tennants, Leyburn)
Eppleby Village Shop and Tea Room, Richmond
White Rose Book Cafe, Thirsk
The Old Barn Coffee Shop, Thirsk
Lewis and Cooper, Northallerton
The Pantry, Thirsk

Local Product of the Year finalists 
(sponsor - Shepherds Purse Artisan Cheeses)
Taplin and Mageean Spirit Company, Leyburn
Masons Yorkshire Gin, Bedale
Winnies Yorkshire Delights, Thirsk
The Home Farmer, Aysgarth
Yorkshire Dales Distillery Ltd, Colburn, Catterick Garrison

Specialist Retailer of the Year finalists 
(sponsor - Richmondshire District Council)
Johnson's of Thirsk, Thirsk
Wilfred Deli and Pantry, Richmond
The Greengrocer (Thirsk) Ltd, Thirsk
Roots Farm Shop and Café, East Rounton
Minskip Farm Shop, Minskip

Afternoon Tea of the Year finalists (sponsor - Mad Hatter Tea)
Mill Race Teashop, Aysgarth
Lewis and Cooper, Northallerton
The Pantry, Thirsk
The North End Café, Bedale
The Joiners Shop, Ingleby Arncliffe  

Pub Food of the Year finalists (sponsor - Hambleton District Council)
The Freemasons Arms of Nosterfield, Nosterfield
New Inn, Thrintoft, Northallerton
The Carpenters Arms, Felixkirk, Thirsk
The Potting Shed, Northallerton

Restaurant of the Year finalists 
(sponsor - Yorebridge House Hotel)
1783 Restaurant Burgoyne Hotel, Reeth
The Saddle Room, Leyburn
The Bruce Arms, West Tanfield
The Wensleydale Heifer, West Witton
The Blue Lion, East Witton     

Baked Product of the Year finalists (sponsor - Hambleton Ales)
H'Evanly Cakes, Catterick Garrison
Institution, Bedale 
Two Dales Bakery, Reeth
The Old Barn Coffee Shop, Thirsk
The Rusty Bike, Swainby

Cafe/Restaurant of the Year at a Visitor Attraction finalists (sponsor - Rounton Coffee)
A J Spilman & Son (Spilmans), Helperby
The Station Café | Bar, Richmond
Wensleydale Creamery, Hawes
Joe Cornish Gallery Café, Northallerton
Black Sheep Brewery, Masham

Customer Service Team of the Year finalists (sponsor - Grand Central Rail)
The North End Café, Bedale
The Wensleydale Heifer, West Witton
Lewis and Cooper, Northallerton
The Old Barn Coffee Shop, Thirsk
Mill Race Teashop, Aysgarth

Locally Produced Beer of the Year finalists (sponsor - Barker Partnership)
Pennine brewing, Masham
Bad Co, Dishforth
Wensleydale Brewery, Leyburn
Black Sheep Brewery, Masham

Young Professional Chef or Catering Student of the Year finalists (sponsor - North Yorkshire County Council)
Raymond Omondi, (Station Cafe Bar) Richmond   
Thomas Hickin, (The Blue Lion) East Witton
Jack Baldwin, (The Bruce Arms) West Tanfield

A to Z of Services