Richmondshire District Council

Consultation on new boundaries enters final stages

Richmondshire residents are being urged to have their say on plans to redraw the district’s ward boundaries – and reduce the number of councillors representing them by ten.

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) has unveiled its proposals for the 17 new wards – which includes one three councillor, five two councillor and 11 one councilor wards.

The plans have been drawn up at the District Council’s request – members said reducing membership to 24 would help to improve efficiency within the authority.   Councillors had suggested 24 single member wards which they believed would make it clearer for residents to know who their elected representative is.

“We are pleased that the commission has agreed that the authority is ‘oversized’ and could easily operate and function with a 29% reduction in members – but still provide the right representation for the district’s residents,” said Council Leader, Councillor Yvonne Peacock.

“As we enter this final stage of the changes we hope local people will have their say on the suggestions – they will be deciding how they will be represented in future years.”

The 17 wards suggested are:  Bolton Castle; Catterick and Brompton on Swale; Colburn; Croft; Gilling West; Hawes and High Abbotside; Hipswell; Leyburn; Lower Wensleydale; Melsonby; Middleton Tyas; Richmond East; Richmond North; Richmond West; Scotton; Swaledale and Arkengarthdale; and Yoredale.

The LGBCE’s draft recommendations are out for consultation until January 15 with a final decision on the new structure expected in April next year (2018).  Changes will be effective from the local elections in May 2019.

To access the proposals – and have a say – check out where there are full details of the recommendations and interactive maps.


A to Z of Services