Richmondshire District Council

2019 UCI Road World Champsionships logo 

UK’s Biggest Sporting Event in 2019 is coming to Yorkshire!

The world’s best cyclists are coming to Yorkshire to take part in the UK’s biggest sporting event in 2019.

The 2019 UCI Road World Championships takes place for nine days this September bringing in thousands of riders and spectators.

And Richmond will be hosting the start of the Men’s Junior Road Race. The event - on Thursday September 26 - will see cyclists set off from the market place before racing out to Catterick Garrison, Leyburn and the Dales on their way to the finish line in Harrogate. Click on the link to view the Men's Junior Road Race route.

And it’s not the only time spectators will get the chance to see the riders in the district - both the Women’s and Men’s Elite Road Races will pass through on Saturday 28 and Sunday 29 September. Click on the link to view the Men's Elite Road Race route.

The championships - which take place from 21 – 29 September - will bring in thousands of riders and their crews across the nine days of races. It will also feature a para-cycle race around Harrogate for the first time in its history.  Starts also go from Beverley, Bradford, Doncaster, Harrogate, Leeds, Ripon, Richmond, Tadcaster and Wetherby with all the races finishing in Harrogate.  

For more detailed information visit the Yorkshire 2019 website and the Worlds Yorkshire website

For queries on the race email



  • Thursday September 21: after starting in Richmond at 12.10pm the race heads into the Dales and the first key climb is awaiting the riders at Kidstones at 1.12pm. The second major ascent then comes shortly after the peloton has passed Bolton Abbey at 2pm, and the action should hit the Harrogate circuit at 2.36pm. After three laps of that, the race should conclude on Parliament Street at 3.33pm.


  • Sunday September 29: the riders leave Leeds at 8.40am and wind their way into the Dales via Ilkley (9.22am) and Skipton (9.42am). They are due to reach Kettlewell by 10.14am before a trio of significant climbs come one after another. Cray is first up at 10.27am and Buttertubs will be crested at approximately 11.16am before they reach the summit of Grinton Moor at 11.51am. Masham (12.23pm), Ripon (12.44pm) and Ripley (1.01pm) than follow in quick succession before the peloton enters the Harrogate circuit at 1.07pm. Seven laps of that tough and technical loop will ensure only the strongest survive for a chance to claim the iconic rainbow jersey on Parliament Street at approximately 3.21pm. 

Click on the link to view the full list of race timings.

A to Z of Services