Richmondshire District Council

Local government by-elections

By-elections will take place on Thursday 17 October 2019 for Hawes, High Abbotside and Swaledale ward and Upper Dales Division (if contested).

Election timetable

 Item Date 

Publication of Notice of Election

Thursday 12 September

Receipt of Nominations / Withdrawal of Candidates / Publication of Notice of Election Agents

4pm Friday 20 September

Publication of Statement of Persons Nominated

5pm Monday 23 September

Last date for registration

Tuesday 1 October

Receipt of postal vote applications and changes to existing postal or proxy arrangements

5pm Wednesday 2 October

Publication of Notice of Poll

Wednesday 9 October

Receipt of new Proxy Vote Applications

5pm Wednesday 9 October

Appointment of Poll and Count Agents

Thursday 10 October

1st day to issue replacement for lost or spoilt postal ballot papers

Friday 11 October


7am to 10pm Thursday 17 October

Last day to issue replacement spoilt of lost postal ballot papers

5pm Thursday 17 October

Receipt of emergency proxy applications

5pm Thursday 17 October

Return of election expenses forms

Thursday 21 November

Nomination packs, maps, polling stations and additional information can be found below.  For further information visit our Stand for election page.

Local government vacancy

  • By-elections for Hawes, High Abbotside and Upper Swaledale ward and Upper Dales division

Parish/town council vacancy

Nomination packs

Ward maps

Division maps

Polling stations

Your polling card will detail your ward/division and polling station for local government election. Maps of individual polling stations are shown below:

District Ward

County Division (including polling stations in the District Ward)

Parliamentary elections

Parliamentary elections are run by Hambleton District Council; you can visit Hambleton's website for more information.

A to Z of Services