Richmondshire District Council

Christmas bin information

Refuse and recycling collection dates across Richmondshire are revised due to the Christmas and New Year holidays.

Residents can check their changed dates in the table below. If you're unsure of what day your normal collection day is, you can check this via our bin collection calendar.

Normal collection day

Revised collection day

Friday 25th December 2020

Monday 28th December 2020

Monday 28th December 2020

Tuesday 29th December 2020

Tuesday 29th December 2020

Wednesday 30th December 2020

Wednesday 30th December 2020

Thursday 31st December 2020

Thursday 31st December 2020

Saturday 2nd January 2021

Friday 1st January 2021

 Monday 4th January 2021

Monday 4th January 2021

 Tuesday 5th January 2021

Tuesday 5th January 2021

Wednesday 6th January 2021

Wednesday 6th January 2021

Thursday 7th January 2021

Thursday 7th January 2021

Friday 8th January 2021

Friday 8th January 2021

Saturday 9th January 2021

  • Up to 4 additional black bags may be placed out next to your bin on your first household waste collection after Christmas Day. Please note that excess waste will only be taken on your first collection. 

  • Excess glass, plastic and cans can be placed out for collection on your scheduled recycling day. Please ensure that you use your boxes for all glass and place any excess plastic and cans for collection in open carrier bags. Please do not use bags to put glass in. 

  • Excess cardboard should be flat packed and placed beside the blue or white bag. Alternatively, excess can be taken to the recycling centres located across the district, which will be open throughout the holidays.

  • Christmas cards, envelopes and wrapping paper should be placed in the blue or white bag. Pleas ensure your paper and card is only placed out on the day of collection day in order to keep it dry. Please note tissue paper cannot be placed in your blue or white bag - it should be placed in the grey bin.
A to Z of Services