Council and Democracy

Richmondshire District Council exists to serve the needs of our local residents and those working in or visiting our area.

Our vision is for Richmondshire to be a place where people will want to live, work and visit; where people enjoy a high quality of life and environment, feel safe, healthy and prosperous and have the opportunity to reach their full potential.

The Council offices are located in Richmond, with Mercury House being the headquarters and housing the Council Chamber.

Our services are delivered through our Community Offices in Colburn, Leyburn, Reeth and Hawes Click here for further information on our Community Offices

There are 34 ward members who are District Councillors for Richmondshire, many serving on a variety of Committees, and representing the views of residents. Click here to find out more information about the councillors.

You can also find financial information about the Council.

The council have also published a list of members allowances in 2016-17. Click pdfhere to view this list