Councillors Information

Political Make-Up of Richmondshire District Council

There are 34 Councillors in total: 

Conservative Group Richmondshire Independents
Ungrouped Liberal Democrat Ungrouped Independent
23 5 4 1 1


Group Leaders

Conservative Group              Councillor Yvonne Peacock
The Independents Councillor Stuart Parsons
Richmondshire Independents Councillor Paul Cullen

Leader of Richmondshire District Council

Councillor Yvonne Peacock

Deputy Leader of Richmondshire District Council

Councillor Ian Threlfall


Information about your local Councillor

Richmondshire District Councillors are listed below alphabetically by Ward.  Click on the appropriate Councillors name to view their details.   

 Y. Peacock LR C. Dawson LR   J. Amsden LR D. Gill LR 
Councillor Yvonne Peacock Councillor Campbell Dawson Councillor John Amsden Councillor Danny Gill
Addlebrough Barton Bolton Castle Brompton-on-Swale and Scorton
Conservative Group Conservative Group The Independents Conservative Group
I. Threlfall LR   S. Wyrill LR  S. Young LR A. Dale LR
Councillor Ian Threlfall  Councillor Stephen Wyrill Councillor Simon Young Councillor Angie Dale
Brompton-on-Swale and Scorton Catterick Catterick Colburn
Conservative Group  Conservative Group  Conservative Group Richmondshire Independents
 B. Glover LR  B. Partridge LR  S. Gibbs LR  Cllr Heslop MYX 5694 website
Councillor Bill Glover Councillor Bev Partridge Councillor Sam Gibbs Councillor William Heslop
Colburn Colburn Croft Gilling
Conservative Group Conservative Group Conservative Group Richmondshire Independents
 J. Blackie LR  P. Cullen LR  L. Grose LR  G. Linehan LR
Councillor John Blackie Councillor Paul Cullen Councillor Lawrence Grose Councillor Geoffrey Linehan
Hawes and High Abbotside Hipswell Hipswell Hornby Castle
The Independents Richmondshire Independents Conservative Group Conservative Group
A. Duff LR K. Sedgewick LR   J. Ormston LR  J. Petch LR
Councillor Tony Duff Councillor Karin Sedgwick Councillor Richard Ormston Councillor Jimmy Wilson-Petch
Leyburn Leyburn Lower Wensleydale Melsonby
Conservative Group Conservative Group Conservative Group Conservative Group
 S. Fairhurst LR  A. Thompson LR  J. Cameron LR C. Thornton Berry LR 
Councillor Susan Fairhurst Councillor Angus Thompson Councillor Jamie Cameron Councillor Caroline Thornton-Berry
Middleham Middleton Tyas Newsham with Eppleby Penhill
Conservative Group Conservative Group Conservative Group Conservative Group
 I. Scott LR L. Hodgson LR  C. World LR  L. Dickens LR 
Councillor Ian Scott Councillor Lorraine Hodgson Councillor Clive World Councillor Louise Dickens
Reeth and Arkengarthdale Richmond Central Richmond Central Richmond East
 Conservative Group  Richmondshire Independents Ungrouped Liberal Democrat  Conservative Group
 R. Lord LR  L. Curran LR  S. Parsons LR  H. Grant LR
Councillor Russell Lord Councillor Linda Curran DL Councillor Stuart Parsons Councillor Helen Grant
Richmond East Richmond West Richmond West Scotton
Ungrouped Independent The Independents The Independents Richmondshire Independents
 P. Middlemiss LR  R. Blows LR    
Councillor Patricia Middlemiss Councillor Richard Blows    
Scotton Swaledale    
Conservative Group Conservative Group    

Corporate Board Spokespeople

Richmondshire District Council is a Fourth Option Authority and does not operate a Cabinet system but following the introduction of the Corporate Board Spokespeople were appointed to champion specific areas.  Below is a list of the appointed Spokespeople together with details of the remit of the roles.

Service Area Corporate Director Spokesperson
Resources/Internal Council Sian Moore

Cllr Angus Thompson

Cllr Bill Glover

Strategy and Regulatory including: Planning, Economy, Community Engagement, Regulatory Services Callum McKeon

Cllr Jimmy Wilson-Petch

Cllr Lawrence Grose

Opertional including: Operational Services, Landlord Services and Rural Issues Colin Dales

Cllr Tony Duff

Cllr Ian Threlfall 


Members' Allowances

Allowances paid to members of Richmondshire District Council in 2016-17 can be downloaded via the link below

pdfMembers Allowances 2016-17

Contact Us

Richmondshire District Council
Mercury House
Station Road
North Yorkshire
DL10 4JX

Phone: 01748 829100
Fax: 01748 826186
E-Mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.