Richmondshire Area Partnerships

In 2008, Richmondshire District Council created five Area Partnerships, all with the aim to help us improve how we engage with our communities. Below is a map detailing how the District has been split into the five geographical areas: Area Partnerships

All APs

By recognising that different parts of the District have different needs and issues, Area Based Working is designed to identify these certain area issues and address priorities at a local level. We hope by doing this, we find residents will become more involved in decisions which affect them, as well as having a better understanding of what the area's priorities are and how to help deal with them.

This approach will provide an opportunity to discuss local concerns and issues, and will be one of the main ways in which we engage with our communities. We hope we can get district Councillors, Parish Councillors, members of the public and representatives of community groups, local businesses, partners and other agencies involved. In order to do so, we have designated five separate areas of Richmondshire based on local service centres and created the following Area Partnership.


Central Area Partnership

The Central area contains 14 parishes within the wards of Brompton on Swale and Scorton, Catterick, Hornby Castle and Richmond (Central, East & West). The Central Area Partnership boundary shares its borders with the other four areas: North Richmondshire, The Garrison, Lower Wensleydale and Upper Dales. The Central Area Partnership includes the main administrative town of the District, Richmond, within its area. Richmond has a strong reputation as an historic town centre with many important historical and cultural buildings such as the Georgian Theatre, Richmond Castle and The Station still being used to this day.



Garrison Area Partnership

The Garrison Area Partnership covers the areas of Hipswell, Colburn, Scotton, St Martins, Tunstall and Catterick (Marne Barracks only). The Garrison Area is defined by its proximity to the army's Catterick Garrison main site and Marne Barracks. Although the Garrison area does not have a distinct centre, the proposed new Garrison Town Centre will change this.



Lower Wensleydale Area Partnership

The Lower Wensleydale area contains 26 parishes in the wards of Bolton Castle, Leyburn, Lower Wensleydale and Middleham. The Lower Wensleydale Area Partnership boundary mainly sits alongside the Yorkshire Dales National Park with the main centres being Leyburn and Middleham. The area is extensively rural and is well located to benefit from the tourist economy as both towns act as a visitor gateway to Wensleydale.

The Chair to the Area Partnership is Fleur Butler 

_____________________________________________________  __________                             _

North Richmondshire Community Partnership

The North Richmondshire area contains 30 parishes in the wards of Barton, Croft, Gilling West, Melsonby, Middleton Tyas and Newsham and Eppleby. The North Richmondshire area is fairly remote in rural character despite being situated between Darlington, Barnard Castle and Richmond, with the largest villages in the area being Barton, Melsonby and Middleton Tyas. North Richmondshire's tourism potential is enhanced not only by a number of high quality hotels but by Croft circuit motor racing track. The area also has two main routes passing through, the A66 and the A1 (M), with Scotch Corner acting as a meeting point for both roads.

The Chair to the Community Partnership is District Councillor Jimmy Wilson-Petch and Vice Chair is District Councillor Campbell Dawson.

____________________________                  __________________________________________

Upper Dales Area Partnership

The Upper Dales area contacts 27 parishes within the wards of Addleborough, Hawes and high Abbotside, Penhill, Reeth & Arkengarthdale and Swaledale.

The Chair to the Upper Dales Area Partnership is Councillor John Blackie; the Vice Chair is Councillor Yvonne Peacock.



If you are interested in becoming a part of the Richmondshire Area Partnerships or simply want to find out further information about how they operate, please contact: Chloe Lewis, Business & Community Officer, email:This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. telephone: 01748 901038.

Alternatively you can visit our Facebook page ‘Richmondshire Community News’ to find out about current projects and for further updates.

 FB Logo Richmondshire Community News

Further Reading

Contact Us

Richmondshire District Council
Mercury House
Station Road
North Yorkshire
DL10 4JX

Phone: 01748 829100
Fax: 01748 826186
E-Mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.