Tour De France Event Fund

UPDATE: The TDF Event Fund is now closed for applications.

In September 2013, the Richmondshire District Council Strategy Board approved the allocation of £20,000 from the Communities Opportunity Fund to support communities across the district with the activities planned for Saturday 5th July 2014 when the Grand Depart takes place.

Numerous camp sites and car parks have already been identified by communities in an effort to support the large number of tourists expected.  And many of the key towns and villages on the route are providing large screens and community led events and facilities to help support this huge event. This fund was set up to support the activities  being planned in the various communities on the day of the Tour.

The scheme closed for applications on 23rd June 2014. The following 31 local Community Groups/Parish Councils have been supported with a total of £15,317.01 to support costs such as toilet provision, marquee & large screen hire, bunting and banners and community event costs such as entertainment and advertising.

  Applicant Awarded
1 Muker in Swaledale Festival £500
2 Middleham Town Council £500
3 Burton-Cum-Walden Parish Council £500
4 Melbecks Parish Council £500
5 Bainbridge Parish Council £500
6 Aysgarth & District Parish Council £864
7 St Matthew's Church, Leyburn £500
8 East Witton Parish Council £404
9 St Andrew's Church, Aysgarth £450
10 Hawes Parish Council £500
11 High Abbotside Parish Council £500
12 Grinton Parish Council £500
13 Le Tour Reeth £500
14 Brough with St Giles Parish Council £500
15 Richmond Children's Centre £499
16 Richmond Business & Tourism Association £500
17 Tunstall Parish Council £440
18 Richmond Town Council £370
19 Leyburn & Mid Wensleydale Business Association £500
20 Arkengarthdale Parish Council £270
21 Leyburn Town Team £1,000
22 Hazel Brow Farm Visitors Centre £500
23 Brompton-on-Swale Parish Council £470
24 Colburn Town Council £500
25 Constable Burton Reading Room £135
26 Aysgarth & District Parish Council £270
27 Burton-cum-Walden Parish Council £437
28 Hawes & High Abbotside Parish Council £1,000
29 East Witton Parish Council £270
30 East & West Layton Parish Council £437
31 Richmond Business & Tourism Association £500
  Total £15,317


If you would like further information about the scheme, please contact: Samantha Coultish, Business & Community Support Officer, by Direct Line: 01748 901037 or email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..













Contact Us

Richmondshire District Council
Mercury House
Station Road
North Yorkshire
DL10 4JX

Phone: 01748 829100
Fax: 01748 826186
E-Mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.